Home > General > Zimbabwe on its way up

Zimbabwe on its way up

I have been in Zimbabwe for about a week. I was fortunate to attend the Jabula Conference. I was quite encouraged. There is hope for Zimbabwe. I saw the same kind of unity I had seen in South Africa. When people get together for a cause so much can be done. We can get rid of corruption, crime and grow our economy.

Chinese goods

I have been bombarded with fake Chinese goods. The market is flooded with cheap Chinese goods. I think Zimbabwe is the dumping ground for all Chinese reject. I bought a parallel cable for my printer and after changing it twice, it still doesn’t work. It can be next to impossible to find original stuff. A cable may have the right name, but it’s probably a counterfeit. When I went to return it, the shop owner of the shop told me cables aren’t made to last a lifetime. Strangely enough, I have never had to change any cables before.

Prices change every day

I went to the printers wearing my capri pants and received a quote. The following day, I went dressed up for work and the price had doubled. I think it’s because  of what I was wearing. Looks like prices are image sensitive in Zimbabwe, so it may be a good idea to dress down depending on the occasion.

Corruption

I have to be honest that I have not encountered much corruption. I am sure it is there. I guess if you offer people a bribe they will take. I don’t offer bribes so maybe I get to miss out on reality.

So far my visit has had its ups and downs but on the whole, things are improving every day. It’s as if the country is resurrecting. Mobile phones are everywhere. Before mobile phones were or the elite, now they are everywhere. Someone says it shall be the same with cars. In a few years the majority of the population will be driving.

WATCH OUT. ZIMBABWE IS RESURRECTING!!

Categories: General
  1. Anonymous
    January 12, 2014 at 8:51 pm

    We’re a bunch of volunteers and starting a new scheme in ouur community.
    Your web site offered us with helpful info
    to work on. You’ve performed a formidable
    process and our whole group shall be thankful to you.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

