Home > Development > Are you a hog or fox?

Are you a hog or fox?

European hedgehog (Erinaceus_europaeus)

European hedgehog (Erinaceus_europaeus) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

In trying to understand why Africa is the way that it is when other continents and nations that have faced similar challenges as those faced by Africa and moved on, I came across the analogy of the hedgehog and the fox. While reading about the characteristics of a hedgehog, I couldn’t help but muse over the similarity with African leadership and Africans in general. A hedgehog is a person who believes that life revolves around one big idea and one ultimate truth. In Zimbabwe the current big truth is that you need a good job to succeed and education is the key to the big job! Another big idea is that if you are black you can succeed and you don’t have to answer to anyone. Sadly only 5% of the population have jobs, so how true is this fact?

Hogs are narrow minded and think there is only way of doing things; it is either my way or the highway. Africa has been stuck in a time warp because Africa has held onto one great idea while the rest of the world has been moving from theory to theory and concept to concept.

Hog thinking often sounds like this, ‘It needs government, big business and big labour to meet the needs of the masses, to create employment and to grow the economy. We need donors, more aid, more ngo’s, debt cancellation to solve our problems.’

Foxes are sassy, shrewd and are always adaptable to different situations. Foxes believe that life is about knowing many things and that life consists of many different twists and turns and many unexpected forks in the road. There is no easy road to development and there will be many unforeseen difficulties, challenges and opportunities on the road to development. Every action counts and there are many small pieces that will eventually complete the puzzle. It may seem as if the road is diverting of course, but that twist will serve a good one way or another. America gets more than half of its economic growth from industries established less than ten years ago because they adapt quickly to change. The West realizes that small business is the backbone of the economy and people are encouraged to start small businesses, not because it is their only option, but because it is good idea. In Africa we believe that you start a small business only if you can’t get a job. The west in constantly innovating change, finding new and better solutions to their problems. Africa on the other hand waits patiently for the deliverer to come and rescue them, give them aid and cancel debts. One of my mentors asked me what animal I would be if I was an animal. Today my answer will be I’m a fox. Read through the list below and see whether you are a hedgehog or you are foxy! I think that in Africa we are raised by hedgehogs to become hogs and if you try to be foxy, you are ridiculed and mocked.

Characteristics of a Hedgehog

  • Regard small business as a refugee camp for those who have failed to find jobs.
  • Feel that the world owes them, if you want a farm, you invade one and take it by force etc.
  • Are comfortable with capitalism where they pull strings and give special deals. I was in Spar Five Avenue last week and people were pulling strings to jump the grocery line. If you can’t wait five minutes in a queue, are you going to be able to wait two years for your business to take off, or you will need to pull every string available?
  • If you are not for them, you are against them. My way or the highway!
  • Hedgehogs join bandwagons- foxes love underdogs and minority opinions because the majority is often wrong.
  • Hedgehogs want to own people. My people, my workers, my students. My church…
  • They rely on single commodities and mass production.
  • Love attending international conferences on aid and development though it is possible to communicate internationally over the phone. They are willing to spend thousands on international conferences only to come back and do nothing about what they have learnt.
  • They believe that the best way to fix problems is by throwing money at them.
  • Hedgehogs select costly first world solutions that may not be appropriate for their needs.
  • Pigeonhole people into preordained structures.
  • Love and crave flattery. If you want to get on with a hedgehog, shower them with praise and flattery.
  • Do as I say and not as I do. Their behavior contradicts what they say. They have no morals and use every trick in the book to get ahead.
  • Pour cold water on any new idea but claim it is their own once it flourished.
  • Will tell you what his position is and who he is related to.
  • A hedgehog will look through you and will only acknowledge you if you are part of his grand design.
  • All animals are equal, but others are more equal than others-Animal Farm
  • Class conscious, where do you live, what car do you drive, what do you do…
  • Hide behind the bed in a bunker while others are out there fighting.
  • Accumulate formal qualifications and become a professional student’s continually studying one programme to another without any contribution to society.
  • Give keynote addresses and promptly leave the podium without any feedback. Even the pastors now do this, they make a grand entrance minutes after the service has started and make a grand exit minutes before the finish with a large delegation in tow.
  • Lash out and find someone to blame. It is never their fault.

Characteristics of a Foxes

  • Prefer to stay at home and fine tune the development policies to improve the environment.
  • Believe that to attract investors your country must be appealing.
  • Mould solutions around the resources they have, and not want donors are going to provide.
  • Inspire people by setting an example.
  • Will tell you what he does- I help people start businesses and not I am a consultant.
  • Will dig trenches and get shot at.
  • Go to the University of Hard Knocks. ‘I am a student at the University of Life.’ Philip Chiyangwa
  • Learn from mistake of others and their own.

So, what are you? A classic African hog or just a hog in general? I wonder whether Africa will ever really make a comeback with all the hogs around. What hope is there for Africa? Africa used to be foxy before the Europeans arrived. Each village was tightly knit and everyone had a distinct role. The Europeans divided Africa up into nation states each with a huge administration apparatus of hedgehogs! Each generation is breeding more hedgehogs and unless we find our foxy selves, we shall continue on a road to destruction.

Adapted from Clem Sunters book: Never mind the Millenium, what about the next 24hours

Categories: Development
  1. March 28, 2012 at 2:11 pm

    The other day, while I was at work, my cousin stole my iphone and tested to see if it can survive a 40 foot drop, just so she can be a youtube sensation. My apple ipad is now destroyed and she has 83 views. I know this is totally off topic but I had to share it with someone!

    • April 10, 2012 at 11:43 am

      Totally off topic, but i didn’t know whether to sympathis with you or to see the humour in it. I must admit, i found it quite humorous. Maybe you can get yourself an upgrade… or get her to get you an upgrade..

  2. March 28, 2012 at 5:37 pm

    Hey! Would you mind if I share your blog with my myspace group? There’s a lot of folks that I think would really appreciate your content. Please let me know. Thank you

    • April 10, 2012 at 11:40 am

      Sure, you can share contact with your my space group. cheers.

  3. April 1, 2012 at 10:04 am

    Hello there! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be ok. I’m definitely enjoying your blog and look forward to new posts.

  4. URL
    April 9, 2012 at 7:08 am

    you use a amazing weblog here!

  5. epipla
    April 16, 2012 at 5:40 pm

    I�d should talk to you here. Which is not some thing I do! I quite like reading a post which will make people believe. Also, many thanks permitting me to comment! 194232

    • April 17, 2012 at 7:28 am

      Thank you. Glad you enjoyed the read.

  6. Gas Powered Rc Truck Kits
    April 16, 2012 at 7:25 pm

    Can I just now say that of a relief to locate somebody who truly knows what theyre speaking about online. You in fact know how to bring a difficulty to light and function out it crucial. I cant believe youre no far more popular since you surely possess the gift.

  7. Asia Lebensmittel München
    April 16, 2012 at 11:08 pm

    You must be websites successful individuals, it comes effortlessly.

  8. how to
    April 17, 2012 at 4:23 am

    Perfectly composed content , thankyou.

  9. Anonymous
    April 17, 2012 at 8:25 am

    Constructive criticism is usually looked upon as becoming politically incorrect.

  10. April 17, 2012 at 10:25 am

    I genuinely treasure your work , Great post.

  11. lainaa
    April 18, 2012 at 2:49 am

    As an internet site possessor I feel the content material material here is genuinely superb , appreciate it for your efforts.

  12. skinny jeans
    April 18, 2012 at 9:56 am

    I�d ought to seek advice from you here. Which is not something I do! I enjoy reading an write-up that could make folks feel. Also, several thanks permitting me to comment!

    • April 19, 2012 at 6:30 am

      Thank you skinny. I suppose the dilema of todays world is we do not feel too often.

  13. op deze website vind je meer
    April 18, 2012 at 10:02 am

    You produced some decent points there.

  14. ids
    April 18, 2012 at 11:58 am

    fantastic issues altogether, you merely gained a new reader. What could you recommend about your post that you created some days within the past? Any positive?

  15. fake id
    April 18, 2012 at 12:01 pm

    Spot up for this write-up, I genuinely believe this internet internet site requirements a terrific deal far more consideration. I�ll likely to finish up once again to read a good deal far more, a lot of thanks for that data. 17834

  16. brickwork services north london
    April 18, 2012 at 5:00 pm

    It can be difficult to write about this topic. I believe you did a fantastic job though! Thanks for this!

  17. April 18, 2012 at 6:25 pm

    Cool post thanks! We think your articles are fantastic and hope much more soon.

  18. wellness
    April 18, 2012 at 6:40 pm

    I really prize your work , Great post.

  19. April 19, 2012 at 6:29 am

    Thank China. Yes this is a wordpress internet site and I just used a template on wordpress and didn’t do much. I’m not a real techie so if i can do it, you can too.

  20. April 19, 2012 at 3:38 pm

    Satisfying posting. It would appear that lots of the stages are depending upon the originality aspect. Its a funny thing about life in the event you refuse to accept anything but the very best, you extremely often get it.by W. Somerset Maugham..

  21. April 20, 2012 at 12:34 pm

    There is noticeably a bundle to know about this. I assume you made certain nice points in features also. 651154

  22. April 21, 2012 at 9:34 pm

    Glad to be one of numerous visitors on this awsome website : D. 217659

  23. April 22, 2012 at 9:53 pm

    There is noticeably a bundle comprehend this. I suppose you created specific nice points in functions also. 511199

  24. site
    April 23, 2012 at 6:17 pm

    I adore foregathering useful info, this post has got me even more info! . 727675

  25. April 24, 2012 at 1:28 pm

    How do I know if a WordPress theme supports a subscribe option?

  26. http://haelainaa.org
    April 25, 2012 at 8:03 am

    I like this internet site quite considerably, Its a quite good position to read and receive information .

  27. April 25, 2012 at 12:03 pm

    Also, weblog often and with fascinating material to keep individuals interested in coming back and checking for updates. 756231

    • April 25, 2012 at 2:22 pm

      thank you careers at amazon.

  28. free renters insurance quote
    April 26, 2012 at 7:05 am

    Excellent post, I conceive site owners need to learn a whole lot from this site its really user friendly .

  29. April 26, 2012 at 8:19 am

    You ought to get involved in a contest very first with the greatest blogs more than the internet. Ill recommend this page! 301756

  30. iphone 4s unlocked
    April 30, 2012 at 10:02 am

    Soon after study some with the websites along with your internet internet site now, i genuinely like your way of blogging. I bookmarked it to my bookmark internet site list and am going to be checking back soon. Pls appear at my internet site likewise and figure out what you believe.

  31. green living tips
    May 1, 2012 at 12:49 am

    Wow, superb weblog structure! How long have you been blogging for? you make blogging glance easy. The total look of your web site is excellent, neatly as the content material!

  32. turbo fire
    May 1, 2012 at 1:56 pm

    Thank you for sharing with us, I believe this site truly stands out :

  33. May 7, 2012 at 5:12 am

    Observed your post very interesting without a doubt. I genuinely liked examining it and you also make pretty some fantastic details. I’ll bookmark this web-site for the foreseeable future! Relly good article.

  34. xbox 360 used
    May 14, 2012 at 11:20 pm

    Uncovered your article quite appealing in truth. I really loved reading it so you make quite some very good points. I will bookmark this web-site for the foreseeable future! Relly wonderful post.

  35. May 15, 2012 at 2:11 am

    I simply want to say I am just new to weblog and definitely liked this website. Most likely I’m likely to bookmark your blog . You surely have superb article content. Thanks a bunch for sharing with us your web-site.

  36. May 19, 2012 at 12:58 am

    Heya i’m for the first time here. I found this board and I to find It truly useful & it helped me out a lot. I’m hoping to offer one thing back and aid others like you helped me

  37. May 19, 2012 at 10:22 am

    Thats some nice info Do you have any more info.

  38. цени на аквариуми
    May 19, 2012 at 3:11 pm

    Thank you for this information.

  39. xbox 360 250 gb
    May 21, 2012 at 6:23 pm

    Uncovered your write-up extremely remarkable in truth. I genuinely experienced examining it therefore you make rather some very good factors. I will bookmark this site for that upcoming! Relly excellent short article.

  40. May 22, 2012 at 4:01 pm

    Incredible! This blog looks just like my old one! It’s on a entirely different topic but it has pretty much the same page layout and design. Wonderful choice of colors!

    • May 23, 2012 at 4:11 pm

      Thanks Darryl. Great minds think alike.

  41. vegetable salads
    May 22, 2012 at 5:14 pm

    Your writing is just so valuable and I cannot even consider of an adjective which will perfectly illustrate your posts. Always keep up the very good job.

  42. May 24, 2012 at 2:25 pm

    Together with almost everything which seems to be developing within this specific area, your points of view are fairly refreshing. Nonetheless, I beg your pardon, but I do not subscribe to your entire theory, all be it stimulating none the less. It seems to us that your remarks are actually not entirely justified and in reality you are generally your self not really fully convinced of the point. In any event I did appreciate looking at it.

  43. May 25, 2012 at 11:09 am

    Nice post. I learn something more challenging on different blogs everyday. It will always be stimulating to read content from other writers and practice a little something from their store. I’d prefer to use some with the content on my blog whether you don’t mind. Natually I’ll give you a link on your web blog. Thanks for sharing.

  44. May 25, 2012 at 11:23 pm

    How do I switch some blog posts from one of my blogs, onto a different blog. Both on Blogger?

    • May 30, 2012 at 9:35 pm

      Link pyrmid, no idea how you do that. check the tutorials or the help section of blogger??

  45. May 26, 2012 at 1:47 am

    Keep on working, great job!

  46. May 28, 2012 at 9:10 am

    Wanted to drop a comment and let you know your Rss feed is not functioning today. I tried adding it to my Bing reader account but got absolutely nothing.

  47. May 28, 2012 at 10:49 am

    Incredibly pleasant work!

  48. website
    May 28, 2012 at 11:46 am

    This is a wonderful site, could you be interested in going through an interview ?If so e-mail me!

  49. May 28, 2012 at 8:48 pm

    Enjoyed your short article. WordPress is truly a Google friendly system, nut there are other research engines as well. But I guess they appreciate wordpress too.

  50. May 29, 2012 at 3:21 am

    I truly wanted to make a small remark in order to express gratitude to you for all of the fantastic facts you are writing on this site. My time-consuming internet research has at the end of the day been recognized with beneficial insight to go over with my company. I ‘d say that we site visitors are definitely blessed to dwell in a superb website with very many wonderful individuals with good plans. I feel very much blessed to have discovered your website page and look forward to really more enjoyable times reading here. Thanks a lot again for all the details.

    • May 30, 2012 at 9:32 pm

      Thank you. Glad you enjoyed it.

  51. Jannet Bagnaschi
    May 29, 2012 at 12:51 pm

    Thank you for the good writeup. It in fact was a amusement account it. Look advanced to far added agreeable from you! By the way, how can we communicate?

  52. Tiffanie Uren
    May 29, 2012 at 3:19 pm

    My brother suggested I might like this website. He was totally right. This post truly made my day. You can not imagine simply how much time I had spent for this info! Thanks!

  53. May 29, 2012 at 5:06 pm

    We’re a group of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our community. Your web site offered us with valuable information to work on. You have done an impressive job and our whole community will be thankful to you.

  54. May 29, 2012 at 6:49 pm

    Thank you for the auspicious writeup. It in fact was a amusement account it. Look advanced to far added agreeable from you! However, how can we communicate?

  55. May 29, 2012 at 10:09 pm

    Wow! Thank you! I always wanted to write on my blog something like that. Can I take a portion of your post to my website?

  56. May 30, 2012 at 12:07 am

    Hi there, You have done an excellent job. I will definitely digg it and personally recommend to my friends. I am confident they will be benefited from this website.

  57. May 30, 2012 at 7:07 am

    It is the best time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy. I’ve read this post and if I could I desire to suggest you some interesting things or advice. Perhaps you can write next articles referring to this article. I want to read more things about it!

  58. May 30, 2012 at 9:13 am

    Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is a very well written article. I will make sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your useful information. Thanks for the post. I’ll certainly comeback.

  59. T.Wisdom Maseva
    August 23, 2012 at 10:56 am

    hie
    Great post,would love to read more.

  60. June 26, 2013 at 11:45 am

    You could definitely see your expertise within the work you write.
    The sector hopes for more passionate writers like you who are
    not afraid to say how they believe. All the time go after your heart.

  61. October 2, 2014 at 8:09 am

    I’m excited to find this page. I need to to thank you for your time for this wonderful read!!
    I definitely loved every part of it and i also have you bookmarked to see new stuff in your website.

  1. March 24, 2012 at 7:34 pm
  2. April 20, 2012 at 12:55 pm
    zftre yuli ghut
  3. May 8, 2012 at 10:55 pm
  4. May 17, 2012 at 12:05 am
  5. May 25, 2012 at 1:47 am

Leave a Reply

