Home > General, Zimbabwe > Freedom of expression and the Jacob Zuma Painting

Freedom of expression and the Jacob Zuma Painting

Jacob Zuma, former vice president of South Africa.

Jacob Zuma, former vice president of South Africa. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

There have been mixed views about the Jacob Zuma painting and the painting continues to make headlines in the news. I’m pretty sure that all radio stations have had listeners calling in and commenting about the painting. The views are mixed depending on the cultural background of the person commenting. My view is that art is usually bold and in your face and is often offensive. Unfortunately the state president of the Republic has been portrayed in a not so dignified manner. I will leave my comment there.

What I found interesting is that an artist can actually think, conceptualize and ponder over drawing such a piece. In Zimbabwe, you’d get arrested for even thinking of doing this. Can you imagine a painting of Mugabe with his shirt off? My brain cannot even allow me to think that far.  What I appreciate is the fact that someone can express themselves so creatively without getting beheaded. Interesting enough it was the Nazareth Baptist Church that called for the man’s head. When a society can express itself as boldly, it gives politicians and authority figures something to think about.

Categories: General, Zimbabwe
  1. May 24, 2012 at 2:09 pm

    Great blog, thanks for share this article with us

  2. wifi installation
    May 30, 2012 at 3:49 pm

    Hi there my friends, how is everything? i enjoyed a lot.

  3. My Homepage
    May 31, 2012 at 7:31 am

    Thanks for the post.

  4. June 1, 2012 at 8:29 am

    rather valuable material, all in all I picture this is worthy of a bookmark, thanks a lot

  5. Cheap Shoes
    June 3, 2012 at 12:42 pm

    All I could express can be, I’m not sure things to really point out! Except certainly, for the great tips which have been shared on this blog. I can think of a million fun ways to read the content on this site. I’m sure I will finally make a move making use of your tips on that will matter I can not have had the opportunity to address on it’s own. You’re therefore considerate to permit me to be one of those to profit from your handy information. Please see how fantastic I am happy.

  6. June 4, 2012 at 11:16 pm

    Some honestly interesting details you have composed! your website is important and has lots of great info, Thank you for sharing!

    • June 8, 2012 at 4:32 am

      Thank you Caroline. Will do.

    • June 8, 2012 at 4:32 am

      Thank you Caroline.

  7. Francis
    June 16, 2012 at 4:46 am

    Very shortly this site will be famous among all blogging and site-building viewers,
    due to it’s good articles

    • June 20, 2012 at 1:11 pm

      Thank you Francis.

  1. May 31, 2012 at 4:41 am
    My Homepage

Leave a Reply

