Home > International, Zimbabwe > Nyasha, Zimbabwe’s own Naomi Campbell

Nyasha, Zimbabwe’s own Naomi Campbell

Louis Vuitton in Paris

Louis Vuitton in Paris (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Nyasha Matonhodze has made her way into the international modelling scene and is currently making a name for herself. Nyasha joins many Zimbabweans who are making waves on the international scene. It definitely took her a lot of hard work and dedication to get to the top after the effort by her parents, whom she had joined in the United Kingdom at the age of eight from Harare, Zimbabwe. Matonhodze is only sixteen but she is already making waves in a trade made only for the brave and spirited at heart. She is being touted as the “next big thing” to take on the world of modeling, and may have a career the likes of Naomi Campbell. Her sweet sixteen warm personality and elegance has won her favour with the fashion houses.

Nyasha was raised by her single mom whom she says is her inspiration as she has been so succesful after facing so many challenges in her life. She was a tall child and by the age of 12 people were advising her to go into modelling, and she did exactly that three years ago. She walked into a modelling agency and signed in.

Nyasha auditioned and competed in Cycle 10 of the Next Top Modal the very popular modeling reality television contest, and has since that time, gradually built her way up to the top.

“I find it difficult to see myself and think that I’m a model. I feel blessed and honoured to keep getting that next step in my career. I’ve met amazing people that keep supporting me and pushing me further and further. It’s like a dream, no matter how good I do; it’s still so surreal for me,” she tells the New York Magazine.

She’s also walked for names like Loewe, Jonathan Saunders, Emanuel Ungaro, Marc by Marc Jacobs, Zac Posen, Burberry, MaxMara, DKNY, Carolina Herrera and Michael Kors among a tall, enviable list.

Already she’s shot over 90 campaigns, 80 of which were shot in the last year. Matonhodze has certainly got her grind on, and wouldn’t be long that she will make it into a list of the world’s top models. Considering what she’s achieved so far, that shouldn’t be hard to achieve.

All the best to Nyasha and I hope that she will continue to make waves in the modelling scene. I hope that she will be an example for other young Zimbabweans to follow suit and follow their dreams. Hands up to her mother, who has supported her through the early stages of her career and is inspiring her. I hope that this will be an encouragement for other parents, to allow their children to follow their dreams. We are proud ofyou Nyasha.

Categories: International, Zimbabwe
  1. Anonymous
    August 31, 2012 at 9:03 pm

    great post. thank for sharing.

  2. September 2, 2012 at 8:28 am

    I believe that is one of the most important info
    for me. And i am satisfied reading your article. But want to statement on
    some common things, The web site taste is great, the articles is really nice : D.
    Excellent process, cheers

  3. September 3, 2012 at 8:21 pm

    I all the time used to study post in news papers but now as I am a user of net therefore from
    now I am using net for content, thanks to web.

  4. September 6, 2012 at 12:54 pm

    Good day! Do you know if they make any plugins to protect against hackers?
    I’m kinda paranoid about losing everything I’ve worked hard
    on. Any suggestions?

  5. September 6, 2012 at 1:55 pm

    Hi! I could have sworn I’ve visited this blog before but after going through a few of the posts I realized it’s new to me.
    Regardless, I’m certainly pleased I found it and I’ll be book-marking it and checking back regularly!

  6. September 28, 2012 at 11:13 am

    I just want to mention I am all new to blogging and site-building and truly loved your web page. Probably I’m want to bookmark your website . You definitely come with amazing articles and reviews. Cheers for sharing your blog.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

