Home > General > It is Time to Recognise the Emergence of the New Africa – Rich Mkhondo

It is Time to Recognise the Emergence of the New Africa – Rich Mkhondo

baahduodu

For decades, Africa was often depicted as a continent of starving children, flies in their mouths and malnourished bellies, families decimated by AIDS, or adults in raggedy clothes walking past the decaying corpse of animals beside a dusty road, running away from their war-torn country into the neighbouring country’s makeshift tents. How about pictures of child soldiers brandishing AK47s.

Who can one forget the late Kevin  Carter’s Pulitzer Prize winning picture of a child crawling towards a UN food camp as a

vulture waited for the child to die so that it can eat him?

For years these pictures and political instability formed negative perceptions about the continent, prompting analysts and the media to describe Africa as a waste basket case, a Dark Continent…

Tony Blair, former prime minister of the United Kingdom, once had this to say about Africa: “The state of Africa is a scar on the conscience of the world.  But if the world, as a community, focused on it, we could heal it. And if we don’t, that…

View original post 1,096 more words

Categories: General
  1. September 13, 2012 at 11:12 am

    Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally.
    You definitely know what youre talking about.

  2. September 13, 2012 at 1:44 pm

    Happy you re-blogged this from my blog. Keep talking Africa… Visit http://www.baahduodu.com and http://www.cranchon.com for more…or follow me on twitter below

  3. lista
    September 17, 2012 at 4:53 pm

    right. how cool and pretty it looks! it is my pleasure to read of the valuable stuff through these info..

  4. September 23, 2012 at 2:49 pm

    Definitely believe that which you stated. Your favorite justification seemed to be on the web the easiest thing to be aware of. I say to you, I definitely get annoyed while people think about worries that they just do not know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and also defined out the whole thing without having side-effects , people could take a signal. Will probably be back to get more. Thanks

  5. September 27, 2012 at 6:52 pm

    I just want to tell you that I’m newbie to blogging and site-building and really liked your web site. Most likely I’m planning to bookmark your blog post . You absolutely come with perfect writings. Bless you for sharing with us your webpage.

  6. October 3, 2012 at 1:12 am

    Perfect. Thankyou.

  7. October 4, 2012 at 12:38 am

    My partner and I absolutely love your blog and find a lot of your post’s to be just what I’m looking for. Does one offer guest writers to write content available for you? I wouldn’t mind writing a post or elaborating on some of the subjects you write regarding here. Again, awesome site!

  8. forex
    October 4, 2012 at 12:36 pm

    Hi! Would you mind if I share your blog with my myspace group? There’s a lot of folks that I think would really enjoy your content. Please let me know. Cheers

  9. October 5, 2012 at 5:29 pm

    +1 to that and I learn from amazing community of commenters every single day.

  10. October 8, 2012 at 3:12 pm

    great news, keep posting

  11. October 11, 2012 at 6:58 pm

    Heya i’m for the first time here. I found this board and I find It truly useful & it helped me out much. I hope to give something back and aid others like you aided me.

  12. October 12, 2012 at 2:02 am

    Very good written story. It will be valuable to anybody who usess it, as well as me. Keep up the good work – i will definitely read more posts.

  1. September 23, 2012 at 10:12 pm
  2. October 11, 2012 at 8:32 am
  3. October 11, 2012 at 12:40 pm

Leave a Reply

