Home > Development, Opportunities > Rwanda an example for Africa

Rwanda an example for Africa

Shankbone post - Earth Made of Glass premiere ...

Shankbone post – Earth Made of Glass premiere with President Paul Kagame of Rwanda This photo is included in my ‘100 People I Photographed for the Creative Commons’ set of my favorites shots out of the thousands of people I have photographed. (About David Shankbone) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

At the mention of Rwanda, thoughts of genocide and the mutilation of thousands of people come into mind. Hotel Rwanda painted a picture that remains etched in minds and this picture is what most think of when they think about Rwanda. After the media has sold horror stories and made movies, they do not often go back to report the positive changes that take place. The face of Rwanda has changed and this is a great success story that shows that even Africa can change and develop. If the whole of Africa would develop at this rate, Africa would be able to compete with the rest of the world and move away from dependancy to independence to compete on a level platform with the whole world.

Rwanda does not have any vast mineral deposits or oil but has the highest density of people in Sub Saharan Africa and is known as the land of many mountains. It is a tiny landlocked country 1% the size of its neighbour the Democratics Republic of Congo. The people are predominantly subsistence farmers and food is often imported to meet demand. President Paul Kagame‘s government strategy is to create jobs through tourism and the services industry.  According to the International Monetary Fund (IMF), the world top 10 fastest growing economies include Rwanda.  The Central Bank has projected that Rwanda will experience a growth rate of 7.6% by the end of 2012 after 8,8% in 2011. This is ahead of most developed countries.

At the heart of Rwanda’s revival is its President Paul Kagame who has made Rwanda his personal problem and is working hard to make sure that Rwanda progresses. Rwanda set up structural reforms, such as regional specialization of crops and increased use of fertilizer and irrigation as well as large investments in agriculture. Economic projections were revised and because of reforms growth by the end of 2011 is projected to have reached 8.8 percent.

Facts about Rwanda

  1. Single digit inflation of 7,4. This contrasts sharply with Uganda’s 28.3 percent, Kenya’s 17.3 percent (September) while Tanzania’s was estimated at 14.1 percent in August.
  2. Rwanda is one of the top ten fastest growing countries in the world.
  3. Health has improved as shown by key indicators. Infant mortality dropped from 86 per 1000 live births in 2005 to 50 per 1000 live births in 2011. 
  4. The use of contraceptives increased from 25 percent in 2008 to 45 percent in just three years.
  5. Rwanda’s infrastructure grew rapidly, with connections to electricity jumping from 91,000 in 2006 to 215,000 in 2011, according to government statistics.
  6.  Access to education improved sharply with primary school completion rates for 2011 reaching 79 percent for boys and 82 percent for girls.
  7. At least 1 million Rwandans have been lifted out of poverty in just five years, according to the Rwandan Household Living Conditions Survey, released by the government earlier this year.
  8. Economic growth between 2006 and 2011 reduced the number of Rwanda’s 11 million people living in poverty from 57 to 45 percent,
  9. Marriott is building one of its first three hotels in sub-Saharan Africa, with a 5-star, 250-room hotel in Kigali. Marriott said it decided to enter Rwanda because of its promise as a service, transportation and logistics center for the Central Africa.
  10. Rwanda’s economy grows and outpaces its neighbors in virtually every development indicator

About eighteen years ago the Rwandan was torn into turmoil and the country went into civil war. Seventeen years later the country is now a beacon of light for Africa and the world. Its economy is on the rise and so the lives of its citizens are changing. If Rwanda can turn the page after such a nasty history, any other country can do so as well. Focused leadership, transparency and accountability will see Africa take a turn for the better as has been observed in Rwanda. There is hope for Africa. There is no telling awhat a great leader can do for a country. If Africa could produce just a handful of such mighty powerful men of vision.

Categories: Development, Opportunities
  1. September 19, 2012 at 2:04 pm

    Tony Blair, the former British prime minister, has been among the Rwandan president’s strongest supporters , praising him as a “visionary leader” for the reconstruction and economic development of his country after the genocide.

    • September 21, 2012 at 4:47 pm

      That is true. Tony Blair has been involved in Rwanda and in a few other African successes, I’m not sure why they were protested against him in Johannesburg. I guess he did send soldiers to Iraq, but that is in the past. Its always a plan to have someone who has walked the road succesfully before you onside.

  2. September 27, 2012 at 5:44 pm

    I simply want to say I am just all new to blogs and really enjoyed you’re web-site. Very likely I’m want to bookmark your website . You certainly have very good articles and reviews. Regards for sharing with us your webpage.

  3. September 28, 2012 at 9:20 pm

    Hello
    Your article Rwanda an example for Africa Zimdev is informative & well thought out,
    I must be back in order to view new article content.

  4. October 3, 2012 at 9:48 pm

    I don’t even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was good. I do not know who you are but certainly you are going to a famous blogger if you are not already 😉 Cheers!

  5. forex
    October 4, 2012 at 3:06 pm

    First of all I would like to say wonderful blog! I had a quick question which I’d like to ask if you don’t mind. I was curious to know how you center yourself and clear your mind prior to writing. I’ve had a tough time clearing my mind in getting my thoughts out there. I truly do enjoy writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are wasted just trying to figure out how to begin. Any recommendations or tips? Thanks!

  6. October 4, 2012 at 4:59 pm

    Wow that was odd. I just wrote an very long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Regardless, just wanted to say excellent blog!

  7. October 10, 2012 at 7:58 pm

    I like the valuable info you provide in your articles. I’ll bookmark your blog and check again here frequently. I am quite certain I will learn a lot of new stuff right here! Good luck for the next!

  8. October 10, 2012 at 8:23 pm

    I will right away grab your rss as I can not in finding your e-mail subscription hyperlink or newsletter service. Do you’ve any? Kindly allow me realize in order that I may just subscribe. Thanks.

  9. October 11, 2012 at 6:24 am

    This is really interesting, You are an overly skilled blogger. I have joined your feed and look forward to seeking extra of your fantastic post. Additionally, I have shared your website in my social networks!

  10. October 11, 2012 at 8:02 am

    Hiya, I’m really glad I’ve found this information. Nowadays bloggers publish just about gossips and net and this is actually annoying. A good blog with exciting content, that is what I need. Thanks for keeping this site, I’ll be visiting it. Do you do newsletters? Can not find it.

  11. October 12, 2012 at 11:18 am

    We absolutely love your blog and find almost all of your post’s to be what precisely I’m looking for. can you offer guest writers to write content for you personally? I wouldn’t mind composing a post or elaborating on many of the subjects you write related to here. Again, awesome site!

    • October 31, 2012 at 7:09 am

      Sure, I’m a bit flushed right now and can use a bit of help with content. Give me a message and we can talk.

  1. September 21, 2012 at 2:44 pm
  2. October 10, 2012 at 4:25 am
  3. October 11, 2012 at 8:24 pm

Leave a Reply

