Home > Zimbabwe > Sharp Increase in tourist arrivals

Sharp Increase in tourist arrivals

Victoria Falls

Victoria Falls (Photo credit: joe_tourist)

Statistics from Zimbabwe Parks and Wildlife Management Authority reveal that about 106,000 foreigners out of 200,000 tourists visited the Victoria Falls rain forest.

Compared to 2011 where there were 146 203 people who went to the Victoria Falls rain forest it was a sharp increase in tourist arrivals.

“In 2009, 116 223 tourists visited the Rainforest, the figure which increased to 141 113 in 2010 and 146 203 in 2011,” reads the statement.

December was a busy month with 22 521 tourist visitors to the Rainforest.

“Of these, 11 413 were locals and 11 108 were foreigners,” the organization added.

The spokeswoman for National Parks Caroline Washaya Moyo added that there was also a marked increase in other tourist attractions countrywide because of aggressive marketing carried out-which has resulted in changing international perceptions about Zimbabwe.

There was also an increase in traffic between South Africa and Zimbabwe through the Beitbridge border.

Figure released by the immigration department states that 524 511 people went through the border at its peak between 14 December and 7 January.

Charles Gwede the Assistant regional immigration manager told the press 229 000 people left Zimbabwe for South Africa during the same period which is 10 percent more than those that left Zimbabwe during the same period in 2011.

The busiest day at the border was on 23 December when 43 000 people came into Zimbabwe.

This past festive season saw a 25 percent increase in Zimbabweans who returned home from South Africa for the holidays.

This according to Gwede is attributed to the fact that some Zimbabweans have regularized their stay in South Africa hence the high use of the regular channels of migration.

Categories: Zimbabwe
  1. January 25, 2013 at 7:52 pm

    Hi it’s me, I am also visiting this web page regularly, this web page is actually fastidious and the visitors are in fact sharing pleasant thoughts.

  2. david ngwenya
    January 29, 2013 at 2:18 pm

    this is the real africa.

  3. August 29, 2013 at 2:57 pm

    Heya i am for the first time here. I found this board and I find It really useful
    & it helped me out much. I hope to give something back and aid others like you helped me.

  4. March 6, 2014 at 1:45 pm

    Great blog you have here.. It’s hard to find high quality writing like yours these days.
    I honestly appreciate people like you! Take care!!

  5. June 1, 2014 at 8:37 am

    Hi, I do believe this is a great site. I stumbledupon
    it 😉 I’m going to come back yet again since I book marked it.

    Money and freedom is the best way to change, may you be rich and continue to help others.

  6. June 10, 2014 at 1:11 pm

    Heya i’m for the first time here. I came across this board and I find It really useful
    & it helped me out a lot. I hope to give something back and help others like you helped me.

  7. July 11, 2014 at 7:59 am

    I’m not that mucɦ of a online reader to be honest but your blogs
    really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead ɑnd bookmark your website to come bacƙ ɗown the
    road. Many thanks
    It’s very easy
    to find out any topic on web ɑs compared to books, aѕ I found this
    post at this web
    page.

  1. February 1, 2013 at 8:11 am

Leave a Reply

