Home > General > Mandela Rhodes Foundation Scholarship, South Africa Scholarship , 2016

Mandela Rhodes Foundation Scholarship, South Africa Scholarship , 2016

Applications are invited for Mandela Rhodes Foundation Scholarship to provide educational opportunities to young postgraduate students from Africa. Mandela Rhodes Scholarship enables a Scholar to study at a South African tertiary institution registered with the South African Council on Higher Education for an accredited postgraduate degree programme. The Scholarship is awarded for one or a maximum of two years, currently for an Honours or Masters degree. Application should be submitted till 15 June 2015.

Study Subject(s): Scholarship is awarded in any field.
Course Level: Scholarship is available for pursuing to postgraduate study (Honours and Masters degrees only at present) at any recognised South African institutions of higher education.
Scholarship Provider: The Mandela Rhodes Foundation
Scholarship can be taken at: South Africa

Eligibility: The following criteria apply in the selection of Mandela Rhodes scholars:
-The scholarship is open to citizens of all African countries;
-The scholarship is for postgraduate study at a South African university or tertiary institution (Honours and Masters degrees only);
-Any individual between 19 and 30 years of age may apply;
-Individuals that reflect in their character a commitment to the four principles of Education, Reconciliation, Leadership and Social Entrepreneurship;
-Applicants should have a history of well above average academic results.Mandela Rhodes Foundation Scholarship

Scholarship Open for Students of Following Countries: Students from Africa (Algeria,Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo-Brazzaville, Congo-Kinshasa, Cote d’Ivoire, Djibouti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Swaziland, São Tomé and Príncipe, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Western Sahara, Zambia and Zimbabwe) can apply for this Mandela Rhodes scholarship.

Scholarship Description: The Mandela Rhodes Scholarships aim to help in building leadership excellence in Africa. A Mandela Rhodes Scholarship is more than a bursary, though the costs of Scholars are generously covered during their period of study. The Mandela Rhodes Foundation offers young Africans who exhibit academic prowess as well as broader leadership potential an educational opportunity unique on the continent. While pursuing their chosen post-graduate degree, each Scholar benefits from access to leadership development programmes, rooted in the principles underpinning the Foundation. In addition to the opportunity to interact with a diverse group of fellow-Scholars that spans the continent and academic disciplines, they become part of a wide-ranging network of young Africans of excellence who are expected to play leadership roles in their fields and societies in the years following their time ‘in residence’.

Number of award(s): Not Known

Duration of award(s): The Scholarship is awarded for one or a maximum of two years, currently for an Honours or Masters degree.

What does it cover? The Scholarship covers the cost of a Scholar as follows:
-Tuition and registration fees as set by the institution;
-A study materials allowance as set by the MRF;
-Accommodation and meal allowances as set by the MRF;
-A medical aid allowance as set by the MRF;
-Economy-class travel allowance for international Scholars only from the Scholar’s home to their institution at the beginning and back home at the end of their degree programme;
-Personal allowance.

Selection Criteria: The Scholarship programme will seek candidates who identify with the values expressed in the document ‘Characteristics Sought in a Mandela Rhodes Scholar’, further elucidated by the Trustees as follows.

Notification: Successful applicants notified by the MRF.

How to Apply: All applicants apply online via the Embark application system.

Online Application Form

Scholarship Application Deadline: The application deadline is 15 June 2015.

Further Official Scholarship Information and Application

Categories: General
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: